Berliner Philharmoniker: New Year’s Eve Concert with Daniel Barenboim

Monday December 31st, 2018 - 4pm
Duration: 2 hours, no interval

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 26 in D major, K. 537 “Coronation”
Rapsodie espagnole (orchestral version)
Alborada del gracioso (orchestral version)
Pavane pour une infante défunte (orchestral version)

When Daniel Barenboim first appeared as a guest soloist with the Berliner Philharmoniker performing Béla Bartók’s First Piano Concerto on 12 June 1964, he was only 21 years old and at the beginning of a stellar career.

For this year’s New Year’s Eve concerts, Daniel Barenboim has selected music by Maurice Ravel and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – the latter’s festive Piano Concerto in D major K. 537, with the maestro himself as the piano soloist. A subtle combination as Ravel revealed in his Lettres, published posthumously in the Revue de Musicologie in 1956 with regard to his understanding of Mozart’s music: “He Mozart confined himself to saying that there is nothing that music can not undertake to do, or dare, or portray, provided it continues to charm and always remains music.”

Back To Top
Share this page: